Chris Burden

I was surprised when I clicked on this video because I thought maybe at first I looked up or clicked on the wrong person. After watching this video I looked up his biography and realized this man was very daring maybe even a little crazy. He put himself in much danger for the sake of art. Chris Burden after doing much performance art chose to do sculpting and created many interesting visual pieces. Many of them were very intricate and consisted of many small parts. Chris Burden was a very interesting and controversial artist.

Chris Burden

3 thoughts on “Chris Burden

  1. I agree that this man was a very controversial and maybe crazy artist. The things he put himself through were insane. When we were watching more of his videos in class I still didn’t understand why he did these things. I still find it crazy that he crawled on glass and had his friend shot himself in the arm. I don’t understand his message he tries to get across in some of his pieces. I like that you brought him up in class because it was interesting to see this man perform these crazy stunts.

    Like

  2. After watching this performance in class, i could not help but laugh at how ridiculous it seems to put yourself through bodily harm for the sake of performance. He sure is an interesting figure, especially with the crazy ads that he put on TV. I really do not understand his performance style, but maybe that is just me. He is surely an extremely controversial figure who sparked a lot of talk about his work which is very fascinating.

    Like

  3. Ryan Cohen says:

    My man Dean, always coming through with that fire. When we checked this out in class I was pretty blown away (not like how he was with that .22 or anything.) I really enjoyed this. Added to my personal mental library more experimentalist-esque art; and I thank you for that!

    Like

Leave a comment